But I trust in Your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in Your salvation. I will sing the LORD’s praise, for He has been good to me.

– Psalm 13:5-6

This semester in Washington, D.C. has been an unexpected journey.  I can’t even begin to wrap my mind around the details that make the story what it is. Part of me wants to sit down with you and let you know everything that has happened, and the other part of me knows it’s not possible to convey everything. I can tell you this – I prayed a simple prayer of direction before coming here, and God has answered my prayers.

God is creatively sovereign. He has challenged me, grown me, shaped me, held me, loved me more than I’ve experienced before. He has put people in my life that I might have otherwise shut out and blessed me through them. He has revealed to me what I should expect and what I need to give. He has shown me that He is good.

At my darkest and most confusing moments, He impressed upon my heart, “Trust in my unfailing love.”  You see, I have this tendency to think that I can hold everything together. I can shoulder the burden and carry the load on my own. I can make it work. The problem is… I can’t. A few weeks ago, I heard faith defined this way: “Faith is using our God-given means to do what we can and trusting that God will do the rest.” I need to use the gifts that God has given me, but I will always be too small. Even so, God can use my smallness to point to His bigness. God transforms and redeems the unfit and broken things I offer.

He who calls you is faithful; He will surely do it.

– 1 Thessalonians 5:24

When I arrived in Washington DC, I fully expected God to reveal more of His calling to me.  However, I expected Him to reveal what He wanted me to do in my way.  I put boundaries on where God could lead me.  And you know what?  That’s not faith. But I am slowly learning to trust in His unfailing love.  Sometimes that means not knowing exactly where the next step is. Sometimes that means taking one very giant and definitive step. Sometimes that means resting in your Creator, knowing that He will surely do it.

Why am I putting this on my blog? Because I want to proclaim the work that God has done in me. I trust in His unfailing love. I trust that He will do it.

